Bringing More Compassion Into The World

I’ve always wanted to adopt, just ask my mom. Never have I ever wanted to have children, and if I was ever asked, “How many kids do you want to have when you grow up, Savannah?” my answer was always, “None, I don’t want to have any kids, but I might adopt a couple.”

Well, in the last 19 years of my life this answer has remained the same. Now that I’m embarking on adulthood the desire to adopt has become stronger and I can guarantee that their will be a day when I do adopt, but that day is not today. I’m not really sure why I want to adopt. Maybe it’s the idea that having someone dependent on me will make this whole “adult” thing seem more real, or maybe it’s just a female thing. Whatever the reasons, I can’t just go and adopt a kid. I’m not really at a point in my life where I can support another human being. Let’s be honest, I’m not even at a point where I can really support myself. (Shout out to me parents for keeping me alive thus far! You’re doing a great job 👍🏻) I’m in school full time, incurring debt, and only working on the rare occasions I’m home for 7+ days straight. Like I said, I can’t even support myself, let alone a child.

The thing is, despite knowing all of this I still really want to adopt and have been thinking of ways I can still contribute positivly to a childs life without adopting. While I was home over spring break I was reminded of Compassions International, a charity my parents have donated to for years. It’s a sponsorship program where you can either choose a child from their database to sponsor or have one randomly selected for you. When you sponsor a child you pay $38 a month which helps to provide the child with basic needs. One of the neat things about this program is that you can write letters to and receive letters from the child you sponsor, as well as plan a trip threw Compassions to visit your sponsor child in the country they live in. I decided that I was going to sponsor a child of my own threw Compassions. It seemed like the perfect compromise. I may not be able to adopt, but I can give $38 a month to a child in need. I started searching threw the sight to find the child I was meant to sponsor. Each child on there needs help as much as the next but I eventually came across Regina and I knew she was the one I was meant to sponsor. Regina is a four year old from Tanzania. Her birthday is March 16th, the day I chose to sponsor her. I have just recently been given access to my online Compassions account which allows me to compose letters to Regina. I’m very excited to begin forming a relationship with this precious little girl and I hope I can be a light to her in this world that is full of darkness.

If you’re itching to adopt or foster parent but don’t have the ability at the present moment or you’ve been looking into sponsorship programs you should check out Compassions International. They’re a great company and you’ll be making a little person very happy.

Leave a Reply

